Posted on: 27 March 2015
If you live in Tennessee or drive through it for any reason, you need to be aware of the laws of the road. One of the worst driving penalties that you can receive in the state is a driving under the influence (DUI) infraction. This misdemeanor criminal charge can cost you some serious money and time, and can even land you a jail sentence, with a criminal record. Each state handles DUI cases differently, so you need to be sure that you are able to inform yourself properly of what you might face, so that you can act accordingly. Consider this information on Tennessee DUI cases, while working with a criminal defense lawyer to build a defense case.
What is the limit for DUI in the state of Tennessee?
Every state has its own DUI limits, which is why you must be aware of them before you get behind the wheel. In Tennessee, the DUI limit is .08 percent. However, you can still be convicted of a DUI in the state of Tennessee if your blood alcohol content was below the limit, yet you still drove erratically enough with alcohol in your system to be considered a danger to yourself and others.
I have never gotten a DUI before. Will I be hit with serious penalties?
Even on the first DUI offense, you might face serious penalties when convicted in a court of law. In the case of first time offenders for DUI cases, you will be sentenced to at least 2 days behind bars and can spend as many as 11 months in jail. Along with this jail time comes fines between $350 and $1,500. Your license will be revoked from you for a year, and this DUI conviction remains on your criminal record for a decade.
What should I consider when hiring and working with my criminal defense lawyer?
You will have a lot to consider when seeking the best attorney for you and when working with them to help you receive the best case scenario for your charge. Some of the following thoughts are worth considering during this process:
- You should find out how long your attorney has been practicing, along with their success rate when trying cases
- Find out whether the best case scenario is to fight the charge or plead guilty
- Learn whether your attorney can help structure a plea agreement for you
- Ask which attorney in the form you will be speaking with and what forms of communication are best
- Get a copy of their fee in writing
Once you have done your research and worked with your attorney (such as Russ Jones Attorney At Law), you will be in a good position to beat your DUI charge in Tennessee.Share